Birthday “Funfetti” Cookies

cookies

These cookies ended up being beyond delicious. Disclaimer: they are more like muffins than a true cookie but were a huge hit nonetheless. They were nice and moist, and remain as such the next day (I’d imagine longer, but those suckers didn’t stand a chance among 10 girls). They are healthy, loaded with protein, and come in at just about 50 calories per cookie. That’s my kind of cookie. Not to mention, they look pretty cool. They just scream cellllllleeeebraaation (come on, you know you sang that). I made two batches, which came out to roughly 30 cookies (okay, maybe 32, but 2 didn’t make it past the cooling stage).

The ingredients are fairly standard. I modified it a bit in that the recipe from Peanut Butter and Fitness (two things I can definitely get on board with) called for Cellucor Cake Batter protein powder, but I used vanilla protein powder and no one knew the difference (sorry, girls).

First preheat your oven to 350F. While thats heating, as always, you want to mix the wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately. I feel it’s important, especially when using eggs since it’s much easier to scoop out any broken shells.

For the dry you will need 1/2 cup oats, 2 1/2 scoops of vanilla (or cake batter) protein powder, 1/8 tsp baking powder, and 3 tbs Jello vanilla pudding mix (sugar and fat free)

dry cookie ingredients

As for the wet, you will need ripe (funky looking) bananas. {See picture below.} Mash the bananas until you have about 3/4 cup – I used 1 1/2 bananas, 1/4 cup greek yogurt (plain or vanilla), 1 egg, 1 egg white, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. {Full recipe below}

ripe bananas

After mixing the ingredients separately, add the wet ingredients into the dry. Once the ingredients are blended together, fold in the sprinkles. I chose the candied sprinkles that look like little balls. ( 🙂 )  I can’t say I measured the amount, but I used enough shakes to add lots of color.

photo 2-1

I threw some more on that ***** after I tablespoon-ed the mixture onto parchment paper.

photo 3-1

Finally, you stick ’em in the oven for about 15 minutes, although, as always, I went under and cooked them for about 13 minutes. You’ll want to watch them. I checked the bottoms as an extra measure. When the bottoms were golden brown, I made a judgement call and pulled them out and put them on a cooling rack.

IMG_8042

I let them cool for about 15 minutes or until they are cool to the touch. I put them in a sealed tupperware and saved (most of them) until I could share them with the birthday girl the next day.

cookie stack

Recipe

Preheat oven to 350F. Bake for 13-15 minutes. Cool.

  • 1/2 cup quick oats, ground
  • 2.5 scoops vanilla protein protein powder
  • 3 tbsp sugar free/fat free Jell-o vanilla pudding mix
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 3/4 cup mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • SPRINKLES (or Jimmy’s for you weirdos)

Recipe Link: http://www.peanutbutterandfitness.com/2014/05/birthday-cake-protein-cookies.html

One thought on “Birthday “Funfetti” Cookies

Leave a comment